28 March 2017

YASH (the YA Scavenger Hunt) is coming, April 4-9! I'm on Team Gold, which is clearly the best. I hope you win all these books!

If you want a chance to win a boatload of books and also read some fun, exclusive YA content... mark your calendar for the spring YA Scavenger Hunt (YASH), April 4-9! I'll be on the Gold Team with all of these amazing books:



The spring event will feature five teams of twenty authors each—a total of 100 young adult novels. You can see the other teams and the featured books here. To enter to win ALL THE BOOKS (including an advance reader copy of How to Disappear), all you have to do is visit the blog of any participating author and start the blog hop to collect the clues. I'll be posting directions here at noon Pacific time (3 p.m. Eastern) along with a glimpse at one of the featured books and its author, PLUS, my own giveaway of an additional How to Disappear ARC.

See you April 4-9! 

14 February 2017

HOW TO DISAPPEAR Blurb Reveal and ARC Giveaway

Pop over to Pop! Goes the Reader to see some of the author blurbs for How to Disappear. You can also enter a giveaway to win an advance reader copy! 


24 January 2017

South Carolina Young Adult Book Award Nominees

I was delighted to learn that Between the Notes has been nominated for the 2017-18 South Carolina Young Adult Book Awards, which are presented by the South Carolina Association of School Libraries.

And in such fine company, too. Thank you, SCASL!



19 December 2016

Festival of Words brings diverse authors and ideas to Delaware, February 16, 2017

Look what's coming to Delaware! I'm so excited to be co-chairing this event, and I'll also be presenting one of the break-out sessions. (I'll talk to teachers and librarians about bringing authors to their classrooms.) If you're in Delaware or nearby and want to participate, visit the website to learn more and sign up to receive emails regarding registration and event updates here.


09 December 2016

Giving my book as a gift? I'll send a personalized bookmark for the recipient (and one for you, too!)

If you purchase Between the Notes as a gift this holiday season, and you'd like a personalized, signed bookmark to go with it, I'll send you one! (I can mail up to 8 bookmarks at the letter rate, so if you want one for yourself or other friends, just let me know.) All I need is proof of purchase (a photo of your receipt or a screen shot of online purchase), your mailing address, and who you want the bookmark(s) personalized to. You can email me hereOpen internationally as long as supplies and my postal budget last! 

28 November 2016

Enter to Win ARCs (Advance Reader Copies) of these FOUR summer 2017 YA novels - Instagram giveaway

ARCs (advance reader copies) will be arriving soon, and I’ve teamed up with three author friends to host a giveaway on Instagram! 

ABOUT OUR BOOKS:

ELIZA AND HER MONSTERS by Francesca Zappia

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community, and has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea's biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. 

With illustrations from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums and snippets of Wallace's fanfiction, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.


Add it on Goodreads

HOW TO DISAPPEAR by Sharon Huss Roat

Vicky Decker has perfected the art of hiding in plain sight, quietly navigating the halls of her high school undetected except by her best (and only) friend, Jenna. But when Jenna moves away, Vicky’s isolation becomes unbearable.

So she decides to invent a social life by Photoshopping herself into other people’s pictures, posting them on Instagram under the screen name Vicurious. Instantly, she begins to get followers, so she adds herself to more photos from all over the world with all types of people. And as Vicurious’s online followers multiply, Vicky realizes she can make a whole life for herself without ever leaving her bedroom. But the more followers she finds online, the clearer it becomes that there are a lot of people out there who feel like her— #alone and #ignored in real life.

To help them, and herself, Vicky must find the courage to face her fear of being “seen,” because only then can she stop living vicariously and truly bring the magic of Vicurious to life.

In this beautiful and illuminating narrative, Sharon Huss Roat shines a light on our love of social media and how sometimes being the person you think you want to be isn’t as great as being the person you truly are.


Add it on Goodreads


YOU DON’T KNOW ME BUT I KNOW YOU by Rebecca Barrow

There’s a box in the back of Audrey’s closet that she rarely thinks about. Inside is a letter, seventeen years old, from a mother she’s never met, handed to her by the woman she’s called Mom her whole life.

Being adopted, though, is just one piece in the puzzle of Audrey’s life—the picture painstakingly put together by Audrey herself, consisting not only of the greatest family ever but of a snarky, loyal, sometimes infuriating best friend, Rose; a sweet, smart musician boyfriend, Julian; and a beloved camera that turns the most fleeting moments of her day-to-day routine into precious, permanent memories.

But when Audrey realizes that she’s pregnant, she feels something—a tightly sealed box in the closet corners of her heart—crack open, spilling her dormant fears and unanswered questions all over the life she loves.

Almost two decades ago, a girl in Audrey’s situation made a choice, one that started Audrey’s entire story. Now Audrey is paralyzed by her own what-ifs and terrified by the distance she feels growing between her and Rose. Down every possible path is a different unfamiliar version of her life, and as she weighs the options in her mind, she starts to wonder—what does it even mean to be Audrey Spencer?

Rebecca Barrow’s bright, honest debut novel about chance, choice, and unconditional love is a heartfelt testament to creating the future you truly want, one puzzle piece at a time.


Add it on Goodreads.


THESE THINGS I’VE DONE by Rebecca Phillips. 

A contemporary YA perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Jessi Kirby, THESE THINGS I’VE DONE is the story of a seventeen-year-old girl who accidentally caused her best friend’s death and, a year later, is still grappling with the consequences.

Before:
Dara and Aubrey have been inseparable since they became best friends in sixth grade. However, as they begin their sophomore year of high school, cracks in their friendship begin to form, testing the bond they always thought was unbreakable.

After:
It's been fifteen months since the accident that killed Aubrey, and not a day goes by that Dara isn't racked with guilt over her role in her best friend's death. Dara thought nothing could be worse than confronting the memories of Aubrey that relentlessly haunt her, but she soon realizes it isn't half as difficult as seeing Ethan, Aubrey's brother, every day. Not just because he's a walking reminder of what she did, but because the more her feelings for him change, the more she knows she's betraying her best friend one final time.


Add it on Goodreads
_____________

Open internationally! This contest ends at midnight, EST, on Thursday, December 1. The winner will be announced on December 2. Good luck! 

Go here to enter!

24 October 2016

Cover Reveal and Advance Reader Copy (ARC) Giveaway for HOW TO DISAPPEAR!

So, my summer 2017 novel has a cover! It was officially revealed a week ago by Jasprit on The Reader's Den blog, where you can enter to win an Advance Reader Copy (ARC)... that contest is going on until Nov. 7, so go check it out.  

Here's the cover:


And the book description:

Vicky Decker has perfected the art of hiding in plain sight, quietly navigating the halls of her high school undetected except by her best (and only) friend, Jenna. But when Jenna moves away, Vicky’s isolation becomes unbearable.

So she decides to invent a social life by Photoshopping herself into other people’s pictures, posting them on Instagram under the screen name Vicurious. Instantly, she begins to get followers, so she adds herself to more photos from all over the world with all types of people. And as Vicurious’s online followers multiply, Vicky realizes she can make a whole life for herself without ever leaving her bedroom. But the more followers she finds online, the clearer it becomes that there are a lot of people out there who feel like her— #alone and #ignored in real life.

To help them, and herself, Vicky must find the courage to face her fear of being “seen,” because only then can she stop living vicariously and truly bring the magic of Vicurious to life.

In this beautiful and illuminating narrative, Sharon Huss Roat shines a light on our love of social media and how sometimes being the person you think you want to be isn’t as great as being the person you truly are.

Do you like it? (I really hope you like it.) You can add it on Goodreads, and I'll let you know as soon as it's available for pre-order!